Oak 

Tears rolled off his cheeks

like sap dripping from a mighty oak

I could feel the words spatting from my mouth

like venom from those fangs.

You know, the ones that take time to set in,

and how it creeps up and hurts you the more you think about it

My father cried from the venom I put in his veins,

but it was killing me because I am his blood.

His drunken breath spoke of hurt and vulnerability

“I did nothing wrong, it’s my pride but I did nothing wrong.”

I still want to be daddy’s little girl.

Leave a Reply

